Where Are My Socks?

folded-socksseek, and ye shall find (Matthew 7.7)
Have you ever heard of “tunnel-vision”? Not Television, tunnel-vision. It is the strange phenomenon where a person sees only those things directly in front of them. The view is crowded and narrow. If looking at a pencil on a table and a set of keys is near by the keys become invisible. Weird? Maybe.

I have it. I have tunnel vision. I am often amazed and mystified in my earthly journey as I look directly at something and don’t see it until my wife comes to point it out. I’ll say something like, “Dear! Where are my socks?” only to have her walk from the bathroom, across the bedroom to the gaping dresser drawer and stick her finger on my socks that are about a foot, pun intended, from my bulbous nose. It always amazes and frustrates me.

Years ago I learned to look extra hard. I learned through humiliation. Not that my wife was wanting to humiliate me mind you. She was just getting tired of, “…leaving the bathroom, walking clear across the bedroom only to place her finger on my ‘plane as day’ socks”. She was exasperated and I was embarrassed.

This still happens. It is as if my socks are magic. Look as I might I can not see them. I extract every item of clothing in that drawer, mentally if not physically and my socks are NOT there. “Honey. Where are my socks?” rings in our bedroom and out she’d come from the bathroom.

When Jesus said, “Seek and ye shall find” I wonder if He realized what a challenge it might be for a person with tunnel-vision? Of course He realized. Thus the warning about the wide way to hell and the narrow way to heaven. He wanted to be sure that T-V people like me got the picture.

Did you notice His emphasis in Matthew 7.7,8? Look at it a little closer: Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you [you tunnel-vision person you] (that last phrase was mine).

Jesus was encouraging a probing mentality when it came to asking a caring Heavenly Father for something. The three steps involve different body parts or rather they involve the entire being! To ask you need to formulate your question and use your mouth. To seek you need to examine all of the data available and come to a suitable answer. To knock you have to muster up courage and bat your knuckles on the hard surface of a foreboding door. This process helps cure one of “tunnel-vision” in a hurry.

Do you have tunnel-vision? How about spiritual tunnel-vision? You just can’t make sense of anything that comes from the Bible. Preaching seems stupid. Christian people are weird! The, “Heaven-Hell” thing seems like frightening mythology. Jesus just might need to leave the bathroom, walk clear across the bedroom to place His finger on your spiritual socks for you to see what is as plain as the nose on your face.

You don’t want Him to do that! Ask Him for help today. Seek Him with all of your being. Knock and ask Him to let you into the family. He will not be blind to your request. Can you see it?

One thought on “Where Are My Socks?

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑